Posted by: M.C. | 31 March 2011

Plus One

“Yesterday it was my birthday
I hung one more year on the line
I should be depressed
My life’s a mess
But I’m having a good time”

                                          Paul Simon, “Have a Good Time”

Today is the first day of my fifty-first year, so it was, indeed, my birthday yesterday. Half a century of anxiety and angst and unreasonably great good fortune. Thanks to that good fortune, my life is not a mess, but too often I’ve allowed myself to be. I have cut myself off from a great deal with my worrying. I realized at one point yesterday that if I had known I would last this long, I would have done many things differently: put aside more money, even in small amounts; exercised more regularly; taken more chances earlier; and just freaking relaxed. But most of all, I think I would have done everything more slowly and more patiently.

So I want to give thanks for my wife and my sons, for the friends and mentors and students have encouraged and supported me. But the good news is that I’m not done yet. And even more importantly, god’s not done with me either. So I’m going to try to chronicle year 51, a day at a time. This could be fun.

“Paranoia strikes deep in the heartland
But I think it’s all overdone
Exaggerating this and exaggerating that
They don’t have no fun”

That’s not going to be me. Not anymore.

Responses

  1. I like this idea. It is time for fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

